“Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law. Love is the law, love under will.”
– Aleister Crowley, Liber AL vel Legis (The Book of the Law)

 

Truth be told, Thelema, the religion created by Aleister Crowley, is one of the richest occult philosophies I have ever come across; perhaps because it is a syncretic religion building off the esoteric traditions of qabalah, tarot, gnosticism and more.

That being said, I am not a Thelemite and honestly I find Crowley’s personality to be pretty repulsive. He was sexist, racist and controlling – a bona fide cult of personality. Then again, he is undeniably attractive. One could not imagine a more true god embodiment of “sex, drugs and rock n’ roll” so to speak.

I won’t go into the events surrounding the writing of the Book of Law, because it is very easy to find online. But I should not that Crowley says that said that the study of the Book is forbidden; those who do, do so at their own “risk and peril.” Crowley also recommends that nobody should speak about the Book, but rather interpret it according to their Will and according to his works. So if you are a Thelemite, you might not want to read my overly simplified interpretation.

So without further ado, here is the Book of the Law, analyzed (to the best of my ability) line by line.

93

Chapter 1, Chapter 2 (coming soon), Chapter 3 (coming soon-ish)